Greek and Hebrew Fonts: Tools

Online Keyboards (KeymanWeb)

KeymanWeb is an online keyboard that allows you to type in different alphabets in Unicode. Type your text, copy, and paste into your document. For Greek and Hebrew letters that have "final forms" (σ/ς כ/ך מ/ם נ/ן פ/ף צ/ץ), type the letter using the keyboard displayed and then a space afterwards, and the program will automatically change the letter into its final form.

• Greek Classical Keyboard 
   
• Hebrew Keyboard (Mnemonic)

Installed Keyboards

• Keyman Desktop - A tool that allows you to easily switch between keyboards on a PC, Mac, etc. I recommend Greek Classical and Galaxie Hebrew (Mnemonic) keyboards.
   
• Tyndale Unicode Font Kit - Free "intuitive and customisable keyboards for typing in Greek, Hebrew and transliteration, allowing you to create text that can be used directly in publications and websites. The Greek font includes breathing, accents and ancient forms, while the Hebrew font includes vowel pointing and Masoretic punctuation."

Unicode Greek & Hebrew Texts

There are multiple websites that have Greek and Hebrew Unicode texts that you can copy and paste into your document.

Be advised: Often it is best to copy the text into a text file first (in order to strip away any extra code). For Hebrew text, it is better to enter two spaces between the English text you want to copy your text into (e.g., blah blah blah_|_blah). Once you have the two spaces, you can past your Hebrew text into your document between the two spaces.

• German Bible Society - includes the BHS (Old Testament in Hebrew), LXX (Old Testament in Greek), NA28 (New Testament in Greek) and the Vulgate (OT & NT in Latin).
   
• Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon Text Browse - includes the various Targum (Aramaic) texts as well as the Syriac Peshitta. Select "Palestinian Aramaic" for the various Targum texts, and select Syriac for the Peshitta.
   
• STEP Bible (Tyndale House) - includes Hebrew OT, LXX, Samaritan Pentateuch and more. Here is a quick link to the ESV/BHS/LXX and an English translation of the LXX.

Unicode Combined Greek, Hebrew and Latin Fonts

• SBL Fonts - The SBL BibLit font contains extended Latin characters used for transliteration, Hebrew, and Greek in one font. The "Biblical Fonts FAQ" contains helpful information on installation of fonts and keyboards.
   
• Cardo - This is the font used in the Tyndale House Font Kit. It contains Hebrew, Greek, and an extended set of Latin characters.

Hebrew/Aramaic Lexicons

• *Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament Online (HALOT)
• Hebrew and Aramaic Dictionary of the Old Testament
• Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament, edited by Brown, Driver, & Briggs (BDB)
• Dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi, and the Midrashic Literature (Jastrow)
• Dictionary of Qumran Aramaic (Edward M. Cook)

Greek Lexicons

• New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis (Moisés Silva)
• New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology (Verlyn Verbrugge)
• The Concise Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament (Frederick W. Danker; Kathryn Krug)
• Patristic Greek Lexicon (Lampe)
• Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell-Scott-Jones)
• A Manual Greek Lexicon of the New Testament (Abbott-Smith)
• The Vocabulary of the Greek Testament Illustrated from the Papyri and Other Non-Literary Sources (Moulton & Milligan)