Contextual Theology

Excellent collection of brief articles on both topics and contexts, with bibliographies. Also contains a list of English-Language journals relevant to global theology. 2003 pbk. in CSGC library.

Each volume opens with an historical survey of its region then focuses on individual areas, generally by present-day nations. Along with extensive bibliographies and indexes, it includes brief biographies of area theologians.

Look up articles on different contexts: “African Theology; Asian-American Theology; Chinese Theology, etc.

Somewhat out of date, but helpful. Contains articles on topics and contexts. Also contains articles on specific subjects relevant to missions and contextualization.

Written from a missiological context, it still has short helpful articles on topics and contexts, with bibliographies. Contains Scripture, subject and article indices.

Look up contexts or topics. Pay attention to → cross references, bibliographies.

The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the Global South traces both the historical evolution and contemporary themes in Christianity in more than 150 countries and regions. The volumes include maps, images, and a detailed timeline of key events. This encyclopedia offers rich perspectives on the varieties of Christianity where it is growing, how the spread of Christianity shapes the faith in various regions, and how the faith is changing worldwide.

Written from an Evangelical, missiological context, contains articles on topics and contexts, with bibliographies. Contains a “Master Outline” of topics and subject index.

Handbook of Latino/a Theologies explores the varied theological, ecclesiastical, spiritual, and cultural expressions associated with the term 'Latino/a or Hispanic theology.' There is no single definition of Hispanic/Latino theology, but rather a multiplicity of perspectives within the diverse Latino/a communities that articulate a distinctive and relevant Hispanic viewpoint. This collection of thirty-four essays surveys how Latinos/as understand and do theology within those varied contexts.

"This encyclopaedia documents the historic presence and contributions of Christianity in India and its neighbouring South Asian countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives). In addition, the volume includes entries on Afghanistan and Myanmar and on the global South Asian diaspora.

The first single volume reference work offering a comprehensive and ecumenical account, of the significant and fast-growing area of Latino theology, by a group of outstanding contributors The first one volume reference work to provide a comprehensive and systematic survey of the past, present and future of Latino/a theology

Theology has a rich tradition across the African continent, and has taken myriad directions since Christianity first arrived on its shores. This handbook charts both historical developments and contemporary issues in the formation and application of theologies across the member countries of the African Union. Written by a panel of expert international contributors, chapters firstly cover the various methodologies needed to carry out such a survey. Various theological movements and themes are then discussed, as well as biblical and doctrinal issues pertinent to African theology. Subjects addressed include: * Orality and theology * Indigenous religions and theology * Patristics * Pentecostalism * Liberation theology * Black theology * Social justice * Sexuality and theology * Environmental theology * Christology * Eschatology * The Hebrew Bible and the New Testament The Routledge Handbook of African Theology is an authoritative and comprehensive survey of the theological landscape of Africa. As such, it will be a hugely useful volume to any scholar interested in African religious dynamics, as well as academics of Theology or Biblical Studies in an African context.

African American theology has a long and important history. With modern roots in the civil rights movements of the 1960s, African American theology has gone beyond issues of justice and social transformation to participate in broader dialogues of theological inquiry. The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology brings together leading scholars in the field to offer a critical and comprehensive analysis of this theological tradition in its many forms and contexts. Using an interdisciplinary approach, this Oxford Handbook examines the nature, structures, and functions of African American Theology. The volume surveys the field by highlighting its sources, doctrines, internal debates, current challenges, and future prospects in order to present key topics related to the wider palette of Black Religion in a sustained scholarly format. This formative collection presents current scholarship on African American Theology and scripture, eschatology, Christology, womanist theology, sexuality, ontology, the global economy, and much more. The contributors represent a diverse set of faith perspectives, adding to the layered discourses within the volume. These essays further important discussions on the pressing debates and challenges that shape black and womanist theologies.

Asian Christian Theology provides a survey of contextually reflective, robustly evangelical theology for students to engage with the core doctrines of Christianity and their outworking in different cultures across Asia. The contributors of the chapters come from all corners of Asia to systematically examine traditional doctrinal themes and contemporary concerns for the Asian church. Ideal for use as a companion textbook in Asian seminaries and institutions, this book will also provide excellent further reading for those outside of Asia seeking global theological perspectives, and for those in contexts of significant Asian diaspora. Many excellent books surveying theology exist, but this book is a major step forward for students and scholars seeking to understand the dynamic environment of evangelical theology in Asia.