The ATLA Religion Database is an essential resource for finding journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews. Search for an article title and/or journal name in the Library Catalog if the full-text is not available in ATLA already.
General Searching Tips
General (catalog, ATLA, etc.):
Go from the known (keyword search) to the unknown (subject headings, authors, titles, etc.).
Keep a “research log” where you note fruitful searches, subject headings, authors, titles, etc.
Avoid the full-text only trap! “Limiting” a search to full-text will limit the quality of your work.
Use filters to limit by language or type of publication (book, journal article, etc.).
ATLA specific:
Use Scripture index in ATLASerials for articles on pertinent biblical texts.
Use the Thesaurus to explore related subject headings in ATLASerials.
The GCTS Library Catalog provides a list of both print and electronic resources in the Goddard Library, Center for the Study of Global Christianity, and more.
AtlaSerials PLUS combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla's online collection of major religion and theology journals. This database is produced by Atla (the American Theological Library Association).
This database provides access to full-text resources available through the Digital Theological Library. RESEARCHER BEWARE! (Not every relevant item is available electronically.)
contains more than three quarters of a million records, including many important resources (e-books and articles) for ethical and political discourse in a global perspective. This database is rich in Spanish, French and German resources in addition to English resources. Many of the these materials are official reports and primary resources from governmental research and NGOs.
The Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism (GlobeTheoLib) is a multilingual online library offering access free of charge to full-text articles, journals, books and other resources on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity. Participants also have the possibility to contribute their own documents to the library.
International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies, Index Theologicus is hosted by the University of Tübingen Library, and indexes international journals and collections of articles (Festschriften).
